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QUESTION: What are the requirements for participating in the Shared-Work Program?

ANSWER: To participate in a Shared-Work Program, you must submit a written and signed
Shared-Work Plan to the Employment Security Department. The department will approve a
Shared-Work Plan if:

1. Affected employees on the plan are hired on a permanent basis;
2. You have no corporate officers applying to participate in the program;

3. The plan identifies participating employees with names, Social Security numbers and
other information required by Employment Security;

4. The usual work hours for each participating employee are reduced by not less than 10 or
more than 50 percent;

5. You certify that you will pay participating employees health benefits, retirement benefits
and vacation, holiday and sick leave under the same terms and conditions as before their
hours were reduced. The same conditions for these benefits (including possible
reductions) will apply to employees in the plan and not in the plan;

6. You certify that the total work hours reduced for each participating employee are in lieu
of layoffs, which would have resulted in the same number of work hours reduced;

7. The collective bargaining agent for each participating employee covered by a collective
bargaining agreement has approved the plan in writing;

8. You agree not to subsidize seasonal employees during the off season;

9. You agree to furnish Employment Security with any necessary reports before and during
application of the plan;

10. The plan includes an estimate of the number of employees who would have been laid off
if your company did not participate in the Shared-Work Program;

11. The plan includes a strategy to give advance notice — when feasible — to employees prior
to reducing their usual work hours. If it’s not feasible, the plan must explain why not; and

12. You must attest that participation in the program is consistent with your obligations under
federal and state law.
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QUESTION: Your application form says you must “attest that participation in the
Shared-Work Program is consistent with employer obligations under federal and state
law.” What does this mean?

ANSWER: It means you must meet the following criteria to be eligible for the Shared-Work
Program with the Employment Security Department:

1. You must be a legally registered business in Washington for at least 180 days;

2. 'You must have both an ESD (Employment Security) number and a UBI (Unified
Business Identifier) number;

3. You must have a minimum of at least two permanent employees who are enrolled in the
Shared Work Plan;

4. Your unemployment taxes must be paid or you must arrange for payment and be current
with payments on a deferred payment contract (DPC);

5. You cannot be defined as a non-qualified employer — an employer who has filed “no
payroll” reports for four consecutive quarters;

6. You must be registered and in good standing with the Washington State departments of
Labor & Industries, Revenue and Licensing;

7. You must be in compliance with all U.S. Internal Revenue Service filing and tax payment
requirements;

8. You must be current with all requirements of other state, local and special taxing
jurisdictions; and

9. Your affected employees are paid in a way that can be converted to hourly wages.



