The decision

After the hearing, the ALJ sends you a written Initial
Order within two weeks after the hearing telling you the
decision and explaining the result.

What if you still disagree?

If you disagree with OAH’s Initial Order, you can file a
Petition for Review with Commissioner’s Review Office.
Your Petition for Review must be in writing and must be
postmarked and mailed to our Agency Records Center
within 30 days after the OAH Initial Order mailing date.
Your Petition for Review must include:

The docket number from OAH’s Initial Order.

The reason(s) you disagree with OAH’s Initial Order.
Your name and Social Security number.

Your current address.

Your signature.

If your Petition for Review is late, the reason(s) it is late.

Your Petition for Review, including attachments,
cannot be more than five pages. Additional pages will
be returned to you and will not be considered by the
Review Judge. Mail your Petition for Review to:

Agency Records Center
PO Box 9555
Olympia Washington 98507-9555

Your Petition for Review will be dismissed as improperly
filed if it is mailed to any other address or sent by fax.

A Review Judge (not the AL] who conducted your
hearing) will review the case. Only OAH’s Initial Order
and the evidence from your hearing (the hearing tape and
exhibits) will be reviewed. You will not testify, and no
new evidence will be considered.

To request a copy of the hearing tape before you file your
Petition for Review, call the Agency Records Center at
360-292-6064. Your request must be made within the
30-day filing deadline.

Limited English skills

If you need an interpreter, tell us in your appeal letter
the language you (or your witness) speak best. An
interpreter will be provided at the appeal hearing at no
cost to you.

Find legal assistance

You have the right to have someone assist you at
your hearing. If you need advice and cannot afford an
attorney, contact:

Unemployment Law Project
200-441-9178 or 888-441-9178 (toll free)

www.unemploymentlawproject.org
1904 Third Avenue, Suite 604, Seattle, WA 98101

Northwest Justice Project
206-464-1519 or 888-201-1014 (toll free)

WWWw.nwijustice.org

Access to Justice
www.wsba.org/atj

Washington Law Help

www.washingtonlawhelp.org

These services are offered to you free of charge.

The Employment Security Department provides
this brochure to help you file an appeal. If you
have questions, call the claims center at

800-318-6022. e :':c':,lﬁr);me"'
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Note to employers

This brochure is primarily for people who applied for unemployment benefits,
hut the procedures for filing an appeal are similar for you, too. You may appeal
any decision related fo why someone is no longer working for you if you
are the last employer or a hase-year employer. You may appeal other
decisions if you provided the department with relevant information
regarding eligibility for a specific week. You also may appeal if we
deny your request for relief of henefit charges to your account,
or if we deny your request fo approve or extend standby
status for your workers. For more information, see
page 16 of the Tax Handbook or call your
District Tax Office.

When can | file an appeal?

If you disagree with a decision made by the Employment
Security Department about your unemployment benefits,
you have the right to appeal that decision. For example,
you may disagree with:

A final decision about your benefit amount (your final
“Statement of Wages and Hours”).

A written decision to deny or reduce your benefits.

A decision to deny your training application.

The reason you were overpaid unemployment benefits.
The amount of overpayment.

The finding that you were at fault in causing the
overpayment.

The denial of your request to waive repayment of
overpaid benefits.

Note: Your employer also has the right to appeal
our decisions. Department staff cannot help you write
your appeal due to a potential conflict of interest.
When necessary, staff will help those with disabilities or
limited English skills fill out paperwork.

Continue to file your weekly claims during the appeal process.
You must meet all eligibility requirements for weeks that you
claim. If you win your appeal, you will only be paid for weeks
you were eligible.

How do | file an appeal?

Your appeal must be in writing and postmarked or
faxed to the address or fax number listed on the written
decision within 30 days after the date we mailed it to

Continue filing weekly claims

Continue filing weekly claims during the appeals process
for weeks you want to be paid. If you win your appeal,
you will be paid only for weeks you claimed. If you

you. Your letter must include: lose your appeal, you may have to repay benefits you

The decision that you want to appeal. received. If you are unable to file your weekly claims

li by ph -all the claims center for help.
The reason(s) you disagree with our decision. oritnie Of By phone, G THe cilmb ceiet for ielb

Your name and Social Security number.

What happens next?

Your current address and telephone number. , ,
OAH is a separate state agency from Employment Security

Department that conducts appeal hearings. An administrative
law judge (AL)) will hear your case. OAH mails a hearing

Your signature.

If your appeal is late, the reasons it is late.
o notice to you showing the date and time of your hearing,
If you do not respond within 30 days, you may lose your , 1
i ) o along with a brochure describing how to prepare for

appeal rights. Once we receive your letter, it will be
filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).

If the appeal is filed late, our efforts to recover benefit

the hearing. Most hearings are conducted by telephone.
During the hearing, all testimony is given under oath. Your
witnesses should have first-hand knowledge of the details of

overpayments will continue. the case
e case.

If you change your mailing address after filing your appeal, notify the claims center and OAH immediately.

How do | prepare for my hearing?

Review your file: You have the right to a copy of your claim file. When you appeal, the claims center forwards the
appeal and relevant documents to OAH. When OAH schedules your hearing, they send copies of these documents to you.
The documents may contain your statement, your employer’s statement, witness statements and decisions by our staff. It is
important for you to review the documents to prepare for your hearing.

Usually, you cannot receive unemployment benefits if you quit your job without good cause. You may be able to receive
benefits if you were fired and there was no misconduct involved. Your employer may have told us that you quit, but you think
you were fired. A careful review of all information in your file will give you a good idea of what your employer might say at
the hearing, and help you prepare.

Review employer records: Your employer is required by law to keep records showing your hours worked and why your
job ended. You have the right to see your personnel record.

These records may be helpful in proving your case. For example, your employer may claim you were fired for missing too
much work. Ask the employer for these records. If the employer denies your request, the brochure mailed from OAH with
your hearing notice explains how to get a subpoena for the records.



